Independent Steering Committee

In Phase II, the Independent Steering Committee (ISC) will replace the Independent Advisory Committee (IAC) from Phase I, enabling it to take on a more active governance role. The ISC will not only provide advice on strategic direction and priority-setting for the overall program, but it will also undertake a formal review and approval of A4NH’s annual plan of work and budget, plans for program evaluations, and strategies. The ISC will report to the IFPRI Board annually with recommendations and proposed management responses.


mary-amuyunzu-nyamongo-crop jeroen-bordewijk s-mahendra-dev shenggen-fan-crop
Mary Amuyunzu-Nyamongo
Executive Director and co-founder
African Institute for Health and Development
Jeroen A. Bordewijk
Former SVP, Supply Chain Excellence Programme (retired)
S. Mahendra Dev
Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research
Shenggen Fan (Ex-Officio Member)
Director General
International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)
joyce-kinabo robert-paarlberg emmy-simmons
Joyce Kinabo
Professor, Human Nutrition, Sokoine University of Agriculture
Department of Food Science and Technology
Robert Paarlberg (Chair)
Betty Freyhof Johnson Class of 1944 Professor of Political Science
Wellesley College
Emmy Simmons
Former Assistant Administrator
United States Agency for International Development (USAID)

Phase I: IAC Meeting Notes

IAC Meeting 1 (2012)- 2012 Agenda & Notes

IAC Meeting 2 (2013)- 2013 Agenda & Notes

IAC Meeting 3 (2014)- 2014 Agenda & Notes

IAC Meeting 4 (2015)- 2015 Agenda & Notes

IAC Meeting 5 (2016)- 2016 Agenda & Notes